Improved Mobile Coverage

Minister for Innovation, Science and the Digital Economy Leeanne Enoch is crowing about enhanced mobile phone coverage with 39 4G small cells to be installed over the next year across the state.

4g-small-cell-locations-lgMs Enoch says the 4G cells are among up to 50 secured through the Queensland Government’s co-funding arrangement with Telstra for round one of the Mobile Black Spot Program.

“Mobile phone black spots have been a huge concern for many regional communities, with poor coverage presenting serious safety concerns.”

“Local businesses are also hurting, so with this being Queensland Small Business Week, the new 4G cells will not only boost phone coverage – but confidence levels.”

A small cell is a miniature version of a standard mobile base station. Each small cell will provide 4G mobile connectivity over a coverage footprint of approximately 200 to 300 metres.

The 4G small cells will deliver coverage to hundreds more premises – and are in addition to 144 mobile base stations secured under the state’s $24 million co-investment in the Australian Government’s Mobile Black Spot Program (MBSP).

The mobile base stations secured under MBSP will provide coverage to more than 20,000 premises, including houses, businesses, schools and government offices.

The 39 new small cell locations are: Weengallon, Wallumbilla, Homestead, Thargomindah, Ridgewood, Cannon Valley, Nobby, Buxton, Delta, Brookstead, South Kolan, Inkermin, Flagstone Creek, Burnett Heads, Woodstock, Forest Hill, Rosedale, Brandon, Acland, Bororen, Forrest Beach, Bowenville, Comet, Kennedy, Surat, Ridgelands, El Arish, Brigalow, Tanby, Babinda, Peachester, Capella, Mount Alford, Conondale, Yakapari, Kerry, Kumbia, Pentland, and Cungulla.