Local health staff recognised at annual awards

Dedication to patients and local communities by individuals and work teams has been recognised at the 2015 South West Hospital and Health Service (HHS) annual staff awards.
The awards were held at St George on 26 October.
South West HHS Board Chair Lindsay Godfrey said the staff awards were a celebration of the dedication, professionalism and compassion that staff throughout the region demonstrated at work every day.

The 2015 awards categories and winners are:
1. Customers first – putting clients first through a commitment to being responsive and empathetic to clients’ needs; when challenges arise, takes responsibility and accountability to find solutions.
Winner: Charleville Hospital nursing and midwifery staff.

Customers First_ Charlevile Nursing and Midwifery team

2. Ideas into action – driving ideas into actions through new and innovative methods of service delivery or leading edge clinical practice; identifies opportunities and develops and leads innovative solutions.
Winner: South West HHS elective surgery waiting list management team.

3. Unleash potential – supporting a culture of greatness through consistently evaluating performance for improvement by evaluating work practices, seeks feedback, makes suggestions and acts on it.
Winner: Dr Mark Dohlad, South West HHS Principal Dentist.

Unleash_Potential_Mark Dohlad Principal Dentist

4. Be courageous – fostering a culture of courage and ownership through challenging the norm; acknowledges mistakes, improves performance and embraces success.
Winner: Alison Evan, Director of Nursing and Facility Manager, Cunnamulla Hospital.

Be Couregous_Alison Evans

5. Empower people – empowering people to provide an outstanding performance, inspires participation; delegates responsibilities and accountabilities to the benefit of the development of the service; coaches and develops others.
Winner: Margaret Wedge, Acting Director of Nursing and Facility Manager, Roma Hospital.

Empower People - Margaret Wedge Roma DON

6. Jim and Jill Baker – supporting a culture of excellence.
Winner: Anne Lloyd, Director of Nursing and Facility Manager, Westhaven Aged Care Facility.

Jim and Jill Baker Award_Anne Lloyd

7. Indigenous health improvement – prioritising collaboration with our health care partners to better connect care that facilitate improvements in the health outcomes and well-being of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.
Winner: Liz Morgan, Clinical Nurse Chronic Disease, St George Hospital.

Indigenous Health Improvement_Elizabeth Morgan